Watch SONA in your community

Friday, February 2, 2018

The Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) will be hosting a number of live broadcasts of the State of the Nation Address (SONA) to ensure the President’s message is spread far and wide.

The live broadcasts, which take place at a venue within a community, aim to mobilise South Africans to watch the address, as well as give citizens an opportunity to actively engage in their own development.

At some of the viewing sites, there will be community dialogues as well as participation from local leadership as part of the build-up to the delivery of the President’s address.

The President will deliver the SONA to a joint sitting of the two Houses of Parliament, the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces, at 7pm, on Thursday.

The live viewing events will take place in the following municipalities:

District municipality

Local municipality



Joe Gqabi Municipality

Walter Sisulu Municipality

Takalani FM in Aliwal North


Antos Boarding School Aliwal North


Nelson Mandela Bay Metro

Nelson Mandela Bay Metro

Bay FM in Port Elizabeth


Collegiate Girls’ High School, Port Elizabeth


Alfred Nzo Municipality

Mbizana Municipality

Alfred Nzo Radio and Inkonjane FM


Vukuzenzele Special School, Mbizana


Buffalo City Metro

Buffalo City Metro

Mdantsane FM in Mdantsane, East London.


Buffalo City College

East London


Mangaung Metro


Mangaung Metro


NARSEC College, Thaba Nchu


Fezile Dabi Municipality

Ngwathe Municipality

Phiritona Thusong Service Centre, Heilbron


Lejweleputswa Municipality

Matjhabeng Municipality

Unitas High School, Welkom


Xhariep Municipality

Mohokare Municipality

Mohokare Thusong Service Centre, Zastron


City of Ekurhuleni Metro

City of Ekurhuleni Metro

Boksburg Correctional Services (Prison)


City of Tshwane Metro

City of Tshwane Metro

Odi Correctional Services (Prison)


Mopani Municipality

Ba-Phalaborwa Municipality

Full Gospel



Vhembe Municipality

Thulamela Municipality

Thohoyandou Management Area


Capricorn Municipality

Capricorn Municipality

Capricorn FET Auditorium


Sekhukhune Municipality

Makhuduthamaga Municipality

Kgwana Community Centre



Alfred Duma

Driefontien Community Hall


eThekwini Metro

eThekwini Metro

Umlazi Comprehensive Technical High School


Nkangala Municipality

Emakhazeni Municipality

Dullstroom, Sakhelwe Community Hall


Namakwa Municipality

Namakhoi Municipality

Rooiwal Community Hall


JTG DM Municipality

Ga-Segonyana Municipality

Vergeneog community Hall


ZFM District Municipality

Kheis Municipality

Opwag Community Hall


Pixley Ka Seme Municipality

Umsobomvu Municipality



Frances Baard Municipality

Sol Plaatje Municipality

Kimberly 3 SAI Military Base


Ngaka Modiri Molema Municipality

Ratlou Municipality

Ratlou Thusong Service Centre


Dr Kenneth Kaunda Municipality

Matlosana Municipality

Kanana Community Hall, Orkney


Bojanala Platinum Municipality

Rustenburg Municipality

Kutlwanong School for the Disable


Central Karoo Municipality

Beaufort West Municipality

Town Hall


Cape Winelands Municipality

Breede Valley Municipality

Thusong Centre


City of Cape Town Metro

City of Cape Town Metro

Marimba Restaurant, Cape Town


City of Cape Town Metro

City of Cape Town Metro

Gugulethu Civic Hall


Eden Municipality

Bitou Municipality

Simunye Thusong Service Centre


Overberg Municipality

Overstrand Municipality

Zwelihle Community Hall


West Coast District Municipality

Swartland Municipality

Ilinge Lethu Thusong Service Centre


The State of the Nation Address will also be broadcast live on SABC radio stations, SABC TV and Parliament TV (DStv Channel 408). –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter