Presidential committee to plan 40th anniversary of June 16

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma has appointed a 15-member Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) to prepare for the commemoration of the 40th anniversary of the Soweto student uprising.

The IMC, which will be chaired by the Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Jeff Radebe, will ensure the planning and success of this momentous occasion.

“This year marks 40 years since the landmark June 16 student uprising in Soweto, Johannesburg, which had a significant impact on the course of the liberation struggle and attainment of freedom and democracy in 1994,” the Presidency said on Tuesday.

The 1976 uprisings tragically ended with hundreds of young people killed by the apartheid government when they protested against the imposition of Afrikaans as a medium of instruction.

Other members of the IMC are the Ministers of Arts and Culture, Basic Education, Communications, Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Defence and Military Veterans, Higher Education and Training, Home Affairs, Justice and Correctional Services, Police, Public Works, State Security and Water and Sanitation.

Gauteng Premier David Makhura and Johannesburg Mayor Parks Tau will also sit on the committee. -