Limpopo depts to remain under administration until June

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Pretoria - Cabinet has agreed that the affected departments in the Limpopo provincial government should remain under administration, until the new administration is in place.

Five departments in the provincial government were placed under administration by Cabinet in December 2011, just half-way through the 2011/2012 financial year.

The five departments include provincial Treasury, Education, Roads and Transport, Public Works and Health and Social Development.

“Cabinet approved that Section 100 (1) (b) interventions in Limpopo be maintained, in order to allow for a review in June 2014 after the new administration is in place,” said Acting Performance Monitoring and Evaluation Minister Angie Motshekga on Thursday.

Minister Motshekga was addressing reporters on the outcomes of the Cabinet meeting held in Pretoria on Wednesday.  

She said this will ensure continuity of interventions to address outstanding challenges.

“This will ensure that improvements in the province’s financial position and service delivery in social services and other sectors are maintained,” she said. -