Land expropriation task team to meet traditional leadership

Friday, July 6, 2018

Cabinet's recently appointed Ministerial Task Team is meeting with the leadership of the National House of Traditional Leaders (NHTL) and leaders of provincial houses this morning.

“The ministerial task team appointed by Cabinet to engage traditional leaders on the land issue will meet with the leadership of the NHTL and leaders of provincial houses,” said the Ministry of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

On Thursday, Cabinet announced the appointment of a team of Ministers to engage with traditional leaders on their concerns on land expropriation.

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) Minister, Dr Zweli Mkhize, is the convener of the ministerial team and is supported by Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister Senzeni Zokwana, Rural Development and Land Reform Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and Communications Minister Nomvula Mokonyane.

At today’s meeting that will take place at the COGTA offices in Pretoria, the team of Ministers is set to engage with the NHTL delegation led by its chairperson, Ikosi Sipho Mahlangu, accompanied by the executive committee and the chairpersons of the provincial houses of traditional leaders.

The Ministers are scheduled to host a media briefing at 11am.

The establishment of the ministerial team is in response to the various concerns raised at the start of Parliament’s public participation process to review Section 25 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa of 1996.

The review of Section 25 will allow for the expropriation of land without compensation.

Parliament set up the Constitutional Review Committee to conduct public hearings countrywide after passing a motion on the expropriation of land without compensation.

The public hearings on land expropriation kicked off on 26 June in the Namakwa District in the Northern Cape. The hearings will take place in all nine provinces until August 2018.

The last public hearings will be on 4 August in the Western Cape. -