Zuma announces new judges

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma on Wednesday officially appointed several new judges to South Africa's courts.

According to a statement from the Presidency, Zuma has appointed Justice Lorrimer Eric Leach, Zukisa Laura Lumka Tshiqi and Jeremiah Buti Zwelibanzi Shongwe to serve as judges of the Supreme Court of Appeal.

Advocate Phillip Coppin SC, Keoagile Elias Matojane, Nomonde Patience Mngqibisa-Thusi, Keoagile Elias Matojan, Sulet Potterill and Ronel Getruida Tolmay were appointed as judges of the High Courts in Johannesburg and Pretoria. Their appointments are effective from 1 February.

For the Grahamstown and Port Elizabeth region, Advocate Johannes Willem Eksteen Sc and Judith Margaret Roberson were appointed, with effect from 1 January.

Herbert Qedusizi Msimang was appointed as Deputy Judge President of the High Courts in Pietermaritzburg and Durban, while Annah Malefsane Kgoele was appointed as Judge of the Mafikeng High Court.

The President further appointed Basheer Wagley of the Western Cape High Court, as Deputy Judge President of the Labour Court together with Urmila Bhoola who was appointed as Judge in the labour court. They where appointed for a period of ten years each.

Judges to the Labour court are appointed under the Labour Relations Act and on the advice of the National Economic Development Labour Council (NEDLAC) and the Judicial Service Commission, and after consultation with the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development and the Judge President of the Labour Court.

Zuma wished the new judges well in their appointments.