President Ramaphosa in Windhoek for SADC summit

Thursday, August 16, 2018

President Cyril Ramaphosa has arrived in Windhoek, Namibia, where he is leading the South African delegation to the 38th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Upon his arrival, the President joined the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security meeting, which precedes the Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government.

In this meeting, President Ramaphosa reported on progress in SADC’s mediation role in the Kingdom of Lesotho.

The regional body earlier this year appointed a high-level personality in former Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke as leader of the Mediation Team to assist President Ramaphosa in facilitating the political national dialogue and reform processes in the Kingdom of Lesotho.

The summit takes place under the theme ‘Promoting Infrastructure Development and Youth Empowerment for Sustainable Development’. 

“In his role as outgoing chair of SADC, President Cyril Ramaphosa will deliver a report to the summit outlining the work of the regional body for the duration of South Africa’s tenure as chair from August 2017 to August 2018,” said the Presidency.

As chair, South Africa was guided by its tenure theme, ‘Partnering with the Private Sector in Developing Industry and Regional Value Chains’.

Among other issues, the summit will discuss the socio-economic situation in the region, while Angola will, as chair of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, report on the state of peace and security in the region.

Particular attention will be paid to recent and forthcoming elections in the region, including in Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Eswatini and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In line with customary practice in SADC, a recorded 2018 SADC Day message by President Ramaphosa, in his capacity as chair, will be broadcast on national radio and television services throughout the region on 17 August.

In addition, the President will participate in the prize-giving ceremony for the annual SADC Media Awards and SADC secondary school essay competition.

South Africa will remain a member of the SADC Troika as outgoing chair until August 2019.

President Ramaphosa will be accompanied by International Relations and Cooperation Minister Lindiwe Sisulu, Energy Minister Jeff Radebe, Defence Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies, Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene and State Security Minister Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba. –