Parreira's Bafana squad for Namibia friendly

Friday, February 26, 2010

Pretoria - Bafana Bafana coach, Alberto Carlos Parreira has announced his squad for next week's friendly match against Namibia to mark the 100-day countdown to the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Bafana will play against the Brave Warriors at the revamped Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on 3 March.

Parreira has also recalled three experienced star players to his 22 man squad. The three European based defenders are Bryce Moon, Bevan Fransman and Bradley Carnell.

The Brazilian born coach also roped in Mamelodi Sundowns sensational winger-come striker, Lebohang Mokoena.

However, he left out Everton star Steven Pienaar and team captain Aaron Mokoena whose performance in the previous matches for Bafana hasn't been satisfactory.

The starting eleven at Moses Mabhida will use the opportunity to impress the coach in order to secure a space to the team's base camps in both Brazil and Germany.

Parreira is expected to reveal his squad to travel to his native country and Germany on 4 March.

More is expected from Bafana Bafana, who received an automatic entry for the World Cup, when they clash against their neighbours (Namibia) who have never qualified for the World Cup, but have made two appearances in the African Nations Cup.

When the Brave Warriors played against African champs, Egypt, in 1996, they lost 7-1 and when the two teams clashed again in 2001, the Pharaohs won 8-2.

During the recent teams' workshop in Sun City outside Rustenburg, Parreira said: "We will play our final warm up match against Denmark at home on 5 June."

The Bafana squad to play against Namibia are goal keepers, Emile Baron (SuperSport United) and Itumeleng Khune, (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders include Bradley Carnell (FC Hansa Rostock, Germany), Bevan Fransman (Maccabi Netanya, Israel, Morgan Gould (SuperSport), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk, Belgium), Bryce Moon (PAOK, Greece), Mzuvukile Tom, Siyabonga Sangweni (Golden Arrows), Siyanda Xulu (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Lucas Thwala of Orlando Pirates.

Midfielders included in the squad are Thanduyise Khuboni (Golden Arrows), Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala (both Kaizer Chiefs), Daine Klate (SuperSport), Andile Jali, Teko Modise (both Orlando Pirates), Lance Davids (Ajax Cape Town), Tlou Segolela (Bloemfontein Celtic) and Lebohang "Cheeseboy" Mokoena of Mamelodi Sundowns.

The strikers are Mamelodi Sundowns' lethal goal scorer, Katlego Mphela and Thulani Serero of Ajax Cape Town.