National Orders recipients to be honoured

Thursday, April 19, 2018

South Africans and foreign nationals, who have dedicated their lives to making a difference, will be honoured with National Orders Awards for their various achievements by the President of the Republic, Cyril Ramaphosa.

National Orders are the highest awards that South Africa bestows, through the President of the Republic, on citizens and members of the international community, who have contributed meaningfully towards making the country a free, democratic and successful nation.

As Chancellor of the National Orders, Director-General in The Presidency, Cassius Lubisi announced the names of the recipients at the Union Buildings in Pretoria on Thursday morning.

The orders highlight various achievements and contributions made by South Africans and foreign nationals and are given on different levels such as platinum, gold, silver and bronze.

Among the recipients for the Order of Luthuli is retired Justice Dikgang Moseneke for his contribution to “the field of law and the administration of justice in South Africa”.

Former Liberian President and the first female President on the African continent, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, will receive the Order of the Companions of OR Tambo for her efforts towards women’s leadership on the continent.

The following South Africans and foreign nationals will receive the following orders:

The Order of Ikhamanga which recognises South African citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts, culture, literature, music, journalism and sport will be bestowed on: 

In Gold

Journalist Traci Mackie
Athlete Elsa Meyer

In Silver

Cricket: player Hashim Amla
Artist and Historian Omar Badsha
Boxer Eric Rishimati Baloyi
Musician Johan Botha (posthumously)
Actress Lillian Dube
Musician Hotstix Mabuse Elana Meyer
Artist John Koenakeefe Motlhankana (posthumously)
Artist Thami Mnyele (posthumously)
Actress Advocate Nakedi Ribane
Rugby Player Johan Smit
Soccer Player Neil Tovey

The Order of Baobab which recognises distinguished service in the areas of community service, business and economy, science, medicine and technological innovation will be bestowed on:

In Silver

Businessman Maduke Lot Ndlovu (posthumous)

Activist Nkosinathi Freddy Ndlovu
Activist Violet Seboni

The Order of Luthuli which recognises South African citizens who have contributed to the struggle for democracy, nation-building, building democracy and human rights, justice and peace as well as for the resolution of conflict will be bestowed on the following recipients: 

In Bronze

Anti-apartheid activist Ronald Bernickow (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Sylvia Benjamin (posthumously)

In Silver

Anti-apartheid activist Godfrey Beck
Anti-apartheid activist Lillian Diedericks
Political activist Mary Fitzgerald (posthumously)
Writer and political activist Farid Essack
Anti-apartheid activist Swaminathan Gounden
Anti-apartheid activist Reverend Charles Hooper (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Sibongile Mkhabela
Major General Keith Mokoape
Anti-apartheid activist Rahima Moosa (posthumously)
General Moreti motau
Anti-apartheid activist Zondeni Sobukwe

In Gold

Inkosi Mhlabunzima Maphumulo (posthumously)
Anti-apartheid activist Mama Dora Tamana (posthumously)

The Order of the Companions of OR Tambo which recognises friendship shown to South Africa by foreign dignitaries or heads of state and other eminent foreign persons for friendship to South Africa will be bestowed on:

In Bronze

Activist Rosita Johnson

In Silver

Ambassador Alexander Sergeevich Dsasokhov
Russian Parliamentarian Vyacheslav Tetekin

In Gold

Former President of Mozambique Joaquim Chissano
Former President of Botswana Sir Ketumile Masire
Former President of Namibia Dr Samuel Daniel Nujoma

President Cyril Ramaphosa will bestow the Orders at the 24th Investiture ceremony scheduled to take place on 28 April 2018 in Pretoria. –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter