Teams, players vie for World Cup awards

Tuesday, July 6, 2010
Kemantha Govender

Durban - As the 2010 FIFA World Cup draws closer to the finals, a more clear indication for potential candidates for the various awards will emerge.

BuaNews takes a look at the awards available for contention.

Golden Ball Award: The best player of the tournament receives this award. A shortlist is provided by the FIFA technical committee and the winner is subject to the vote of media representatives. There is a silver and bronze ball for the second and third place winner.
2006 winner: Zinedine Zidane

Golden Boot Award: This accolade goes to the player who has scored the most goals at the World Cup. 2006 winner: Miroslav Klose.

Best Young Player Award: This honour is only given to footballers 21 and under for an excellent performances during the World Cup and was first given in 2006. 2006 winner: Lucas Podolski.

FIFA Fair Play Trophy: Only teams that make it to the second round can be considered and must show the best record of fair play. 2006 winners: Brazil and Spain

Yashin Award: Considering that goalkeepers face a fair share of pressure, the award has been set aside to acknowledge the top performing goalkeeper during the World Cup and was first awarded in 1994. 2006 winner: Gianluigi Buffon

Most Entertaining Award: Results are based on public voting on a poll for the team that has done the most to entertain the fans by taking a positive approach to the game. 2006 winner: Portugal

With teams and individual players going all out to impress on the field, only time will tell who will emerge victorious.

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter