Zuma's new cabinet to be sworn-in today

Monday, May 11, 2009

Pretoria - The 34 ministers and their deputies who have been appointed to President Jacob Zuma's Cabinet, as well as Deputy President Kgalema Motlanthe, will be sworn in to office later today.

The ceremony, in which the new Cabinet members will take an oath to serve the country, will be held at the Presidential Guest house at 3pm.

President Zuma announced several changes to the structure in government on Sunday as well as several new ministers and deputies to serve in his administration.

The most striking choice is that of Pravin Gordhan, who is to become the new Minister of Finance. Before his appointment, Mr Gordhan worked at the South African Revenue Services and was praised for his work in boosting revenue collection in the country.

Mr Gordhan replaces the internationally respected Trevor Manuel, who has been given the important task of leading the National Planning Commission, responsible for strategic planning for the country to ensure one National Plan, to which all spheres of government would adhere.

In the 13 years that Mr Manuel was South Africa's Finance Minister, the country saw large-scale economic growth and he was admired by investors for his tight monetary and fiscal policies.

Other changes include the appointment of a second Minister in the Presidency Collins Chabane, Transport Minister Sibusiso Ndebele and Blade Nzimande who was named Minister of Higher Education.

Tycoon Tokyo Sexwale, who is now Minister of Human Settlements will also be sworn in later today, together with Gugile Nkwinti, minister in the department of Rural Development and Land Reform.

After their swearing in, the new ministers, deputy ministers and Deputy President will have to hit the ground running, as all eyes will now be on the new administration and its ability to deliver on promises made before the recent general elections.