Zuma names BBBEE Council members

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma on Tuesday announced the names of those who will serve in the Broad-Based Black Economic Empowerment (BBBEE) Council.

According to the Presidency, Zuma appoints members of the council in terms of the BBBEE Council Act no 53 of 2003.

In his State of the Nation Address earlier this year, Zuma made an undertaking that government would implement BBBEE and affirmative action policies in recognition of the need to correct the imbalances of the past.

The functions of the council, which is chaired by the President, are to advise government on black economic empowerment, review progress in achieving black economic empowerment, provide advice on draft codes of good practice and advise on draft transformation charters if required.

"The team is also required to facilitate partnerships between organs of state and the private sector that will advance the objectives of the BBBEE Act and facilitate partnerships between organs of state and the private sector that will advance the objectives of the Act," the Presidency said.

The members include Minister of Trade and Industry, Rob Davies, Labour Minister Membathisi Mdladlana, Economic Development Minister, Ebrahim Patel, Minister of Women, Children and Persons with Disabilities Noluthando Mayende-Sibiya.

Professor Mohammed I Jahed, professor of macro-economic policy, economics and public finance at the Wits University Graduate School of Public and Development Management has also been selected as part of the Council.

Other members include Prof Eltie Links, a professor extraordinaire at University of Stellenbosch Business School and also lectures on international trade and economic issues at the University of Pretoria's Investment and Trade Policy Centre, Wendy Lucas-Bull, a businesswoman and the founder of Peotona Group Holdings, and a former Chief Executive Officer of First Rand and Executive Director of Rand Merchant Bank.

Andile Lungisa, Chairperson of the National Youth Development Agency, with extensive experience on issues of youth development as well as Sebenzile Matsebula, an independent consultant and former Director in the Office on the Status of Disabled Persons in the Presidency, who has worked in the human rights sector from 1986 to date has been selected by the President.

Jerry Vilakazi, Chief Executive Officer of Business Unity South Africa and a former Managing Director of the Black Management Forum, Dumisani Mthalane, a member of the National Working Committee of the South African National Civics Organisation and Ellen Tshabalala, a business and management consultant with expertise in small, medium and micro-sized enterprises development, banking and marketing will serve on the Council.

Advocate Matshego Ramagaga, Vice-President of Black Lawyers Association and former Chairperson of the Gauteng Branch, Tsakani Matshazi, President of the Association of Black Accountants and Vice-President of the Confederation of Black Business Organisations, with expertise in the provision of financing solutions to SMMEs operating in various sectors of the regional economy, as well as Sidumo Dlamini, President of the Congress of South African Trade Unions, representing the labour sector.

Sandile Zungu, a businessman with extensive experience having served in various companies at a senior level including NAIL and Denel will also be part of Council as well as Don Mkhwanazi, a former president of the Black Management Forum with a good track record in campaigning for broad-based black economic empowerment.

Dr Claudia Manning, businesswoman who has worked extensively as adviser on policy issues as well as transaction advice pertaining to Public Private Partnerships BBBEE and local and regional economic development strategy has also been selected.

Chantyl Mulder, senior executive for transformation and growth at the SA Institute of Chartered Accountants, who has served as facilitator of the BEE Charter process amongst other work on economic transformation, will also be part of the Council.