Zuma to confer National Orders on Freedom Day

Monday, April 23, 2012

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma will on Freedom Day award National Orders to South Africans who have played a critical role in the country during the apartheid era.

In total, 31 South Africans, including struggle heroes, will be awarded the highest orders that can be bestowed on a person.

On that day, the President will also honour posthumously Inkosi Albert Luthuli and Oliver Tambo, whose esteemed family names have been institutionalised in the National Orders because of the unique contributions they made during the struggle for liberation.

Addressing the media at the Union Buildings in Pretoria today, Chancellor of the National Orders Dr Cassius Lubisi said the National Orders were awarded to deserving citizens and eminent foreign nationals.

"These are men and women who have attuned their skills and knowledge so as to ameliorate human suffering and benefit humankind, often at the expense of deserved emoluments for their efforts," he said.

"We are eternally grateful for their lives and sacrifices they made to ensure that the people of South Africa are free."

President Zuma will bestow the following orders: the Order of Mendi for Bravery, the Order of Ikhamanga, the Order of the Baobab, the Order of Luthuli, the Order of Mapungubwe and the Order or Companions of OR Tambo.

The recipients for the Order of Mendi are Neil Johnson Sharrocks, for putting his life at risk saving the lives of 44 children who were in danger of drowning when the bus they were traveling in capsized and fell into the river and Michael Janse van Rensburg (posthumous) for the act of bravery, courage and fearlessness by putting his life in danger to save a fellow human being who was drowning.

For the Order of Ikhamanga, the recipients are Gladys Faith Agulhas, Jonathan Johnny Clegg, Muthal Naidoo, Joseph Nong "Joe" Thloloe, Daniel "Cheeky" Watson and Julian Sebothane Bahula.

For the Order of Baobab, the recipients are Selwyn "Scully" Levin, Gladys Ramahuta, Zane Maureen Wilson, Professor Daniel Gerhardus Krige, Reverend Fenner Christian Kadalie (posthumous), Professor Christopher John Robert Dugard, Frank Kennan Dutton, Lwandle Wilson Magadla (posthumous), John Stephen Gomas (posthumous), Elizabeth Sophia Honman (Bettie du Toit) (posthumous) , Peter Ramoshoane Mokaba (posthumous), Josiah Tshangana Gumede (posthumous), Zaccheus Richard Mahabane (posthumous) , Sefako Mapogo Makgatho (posthumous), James Sebebubijwasekgogobontharile Moroka (posthumous) and Alfred Bitini Xuma (posthumous) .

Recipients for the Order of Mapungubwe are Dr Patience Mthunzi, Professor Barry David Schoub, Albert Mvumbi Luthuli (posthumous) and Oliver Reginald "OR" Tambo (posthumous).

For the Order of Companions of OR Tambo, the recipients are, Professor Apollon B Davidson, Randall Robinson and Edward M Kennedy (posthumous).