Zuma appoints new SABC board

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma has appointed a new 12-member South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board.

In terms of legislation, the non-executive members of the board were appointed as recommended by the National Assembly, the Presidency said on Wednesday.

The board, which takes over from the interim board chaired by Irene Charnley, will now be chaired by Dr Ben Ngubane. Ngubane is the former Minster for Arts, Culture, Science and Technology as well as ambassador to Japan.

The Presidency said Ngubane will bring the necessary expertise and depth of experience required for the position..

Felleng Sekha, the former chairperson of the Independent Broadcasting Authority and the National Telecommunications Forum, will serve as Ngubane's deputy.

Other members of the board are author and journalist Pippa Green, economist Desmond Golding, Cedric Sabelo Gina, Peter John Harris, Barbara Masekela, Magathe Mello, Nkotomane Motsepe, David Niddrie, Claire O'Neil and Suzanne Vos..

President Zuma wished the new board well in their task of strengthening the broadcaster and to build an SABC that will efficiently and effectively execute the mandate of informing, educating and entertaining South Africans.

He also thanked Charnley and the entire interim board for the excellent manner in which they have steered the SABC forward under challenging conditions.

Meanwhile, the broadcaster also announced the appointment of Solly Mokoetle as its new Group Chief Executive Officer. His five-year term starts on 1 January 2010.

The interim board recommended Mokoetle to Communications Minister Siphiwe Nyanda following an intensive interviewing process.

Mokoetle served the SABC for 12 years, starting as a member of the corporation's team of executives who were tasked with transforming the SABC. He was also the company's Chief Operations Officer from 2001 until December 2006.