Zuma appoints new Public Office Bearers

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma has appointed six commissioners to serve on the Independent Commission on the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers.

Pretoria High Court Judge Willie Seriti has been appointed as the Chairperson, with Tshidi Mokgabudi as Deputy Chairperson.

Others include Mark Herbert Raymond Bussin, Mpilenhle Pearl Sithole, Philisiwe Buthelezi and Blake Keith Mosley-Lefatola. They join Nicky Newton-King and Raphael Martin who are each still serving their five-year term.

"I wish all the new appointees well in their responsibilities, and thank all the outgoing commissioners for the dedicated manner in which they undertook their work," President Zuma said.

The Commission is an independent body created in terms of the Constitution tasked with making recommendations to the President regarding the salaries, benefits and allowances of office bearers.