President Zuma meets stakeholders over migration policy

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

By More Matshediso

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma is locked in a meeting with stakeholders to discuss the country’s migration policy and to promote united action to deal with the current challenges facing South Africa.

The Presidential meeting is also attended by various Cabinet Ministers and is held at Sefako Makgatho Presidential Guest House in Pretoria.

The migration policy discussions come in the wake of attacks on foreign nationals in parts of South Africa.

President Zuma has condemned the violent attacks and called for peace in communities across the country. He has deployed Ministers to deal with the root causes of the attacks.

“Millions of South Africans love peace and have lived with foreign nationals in peace for decades. The minority that has caused mayhem should be isolated and perpetrators of violence should face the full might of the law,” said the President.

Ministers and Deputy Ministers are conducting izimbizo and outreach programmes countrywide to interact with communities on the country’s migration policy and to promote peaceful co-existence with foreign nationals.

The President will also meet with organisations representing foreign nationals in the country on Friday.

IMC on migration convened

Meanwhile, President Zuma on Tuesday convened the Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on Migration. He spelt out what the IMC needs to do to promote orderly and efficient migration, as well as peaceful co-existence between citizens and non-South Africans.

“The IMC is tasked with ensuring that all aspects of migration are handled efficiently, including the social, economic and security aspects.

“The IMC will also in the main address concerns raised by South Africans with regards to migration, while also taking care of the wellbeing of all immigrants in the country from all continents,” said the Presidency.

The Presidency said President Zuma has expanded the membership of the IMC by including the Departments of Small Business Development, Trade and Industry, and Human Settlements.

“He has also appointed the Minister of Police as deputy chairperson of the IMC,” said the Presidency.

IMC comprises Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe as chairperson;
Police Minister Nathi Nhleko as Deputy Chairperson;
Home Affairs Minister Malusi Gigaba, Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) Minister Pravin Gordhan, International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Defence and Military Veterans Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Social Development Minister Bathabile Dlamini, Health Minister Aaron Motsoaledi, Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga, State Security Minister David Mahlobo, Justice and Correctional Services Minister Michael Masutha, Small Business Development Minister Lindiwe Zulu, Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies, and Human Settlements Minister Lindiwe Sisulu. -