President Ramaphosa touches down in New York

Sunday, September 23, 2018

President Cyril Ramaphosa has arrived in New York to attend the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA73), scheduled to take place from 25 - 27 September 2018. 

The theme for this year’s session is ‘Making the United Nations relevant to all people: global leadership and shared responsibilities for peaceful equitable and sustainable societies’. 

The UN General Debate will be preceded by the unveiling of a statue of President Nelson Mandela and the historic Nelson Mandela Peace Summit, a high-level plenary meeting convened by the President of the General Assembly, Maria Espinosa, in honour of the centenary of the birth of South Africa’s first democratically elected President.
This year’s session will mark President Ramaphosa’s inaugural participation in UNGA as Head of State and Government. President Ramaphosa will participate in the annual General Debate, which is the occasion for world leaders to gather at UN headquarters to discuss global issues.

President Ramaphosa will outline South Africa’s domestic and foreign policy goals and priorities. These include the country’s land reform programme aimed at fostering greater stability, inclusiveness and transformation within the South African economy.
President Ramaphosa will also meet with CEOs of major global companies as part of the drive to attract foreign direct investment in order to ramp up the South African economy. This will form part of the build-up to South Africa’s International Investment Conference, which will take place on 26 and 27 October, with a focus on bringing investment of $100 billion into the South African economy over the next five years.
President Ramaphosa is accompanied by Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Ms Lindiwe Sisulu; Minister of Trade and Industry Dr Rob Davies; Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; Minister of Finance Mr Nhlanhla Nene; Minister of Health Dr Aaron Motsoaledi; Minister of Arts and Culture Mr Nathi Mthethwa; Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services Siyabonga Cyprian Cwele; Minister of Higher Education Ms Naledi Pandor; Minister of State Security Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba as well as Minister of Water and Sanitation Mr Gugile Nkwinti. –