Party announces approved list of Premiers

Friday, May 1, 2009

Pretoria - The African National Congress (ANC) on Thursday announced who would be filling the post of premier in eight of the country's provinces.

The ANC won an outright majority in eight of the nine provinces during the 2009 General Election.

Following a National Executive Committee meeting in Johannesburg, the party announced the candidates approved for appointment as premiers in their respective provinces.

Nomvula Mokonyane is to be Premier of Gauteng, Zweli Mkhize will be Premier of KwaZulu-Natal and Ace Magashule, the Premier of the Free State.

Noxolo Kiviet is expected to become Premier of the Eastern Cape, Cassel Mathale Premier of Limpopo, David Mabuza Premier of Mpumalanga, Hazel Jenkins Premier of the Northern Cape and Maureen Modiselle Premier of the North West.

The Democratic Alliance had won the majority of the votes in the Western Cape. It is expected that the party will put its leader and Mayor of Cape Town, Helen Zille forward as its candidate to become Premier in that province.

New appointments in the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces were also approved during Thursday's meeting.

The ANC, which received 65.9 percent of the 17.6 million valid votes cast on 22 April, secured 264 seats in Parliament.

The National Assembly Speaker is to be Max Sisulu, his Deputy will be NomaIndia Mfeketo. Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces will be MJ Mahlangu.

The National Assembly will convene on 6 May where the new Members of Parliament will be sworn in. They will in turn elect the new President.