Parliament elects Zuma as President of SA

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Pretoria - Jacob Zuma has been elected President of South Africa by Members of Parliament (MPs) in the National Assembly on Wednesday.

Zuma’s nomination came before an objection by the Democratic Alliance. But Chief Justice Mogoeng dismissed the point raised.

He ruled that “all present here are eligible for election”. This means that there was no secret ballot, as there was no second nomination.

"In terms of Item 6 of part A, Schedule A of the Constitution, I declare the honourable Jacob Zuma duly elected President of the Republic of South Africa," Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng who presided over the nomination process announced.

Mogoeng then congratulated the President-elect, while the house broke into cheers and ululations.

With the election, this means that Zuma now ceases to be a member of the National Assembly by operation of law. His party will later fill that position by choosing the next person on its election list.

The President-elect will take the Oath of Office to “be faithful to the Republic of South Africa” and to “obey, observe and maintain the constitution and all other laws”, on Saturday at the Nelson Mandela Amphitheatre at the Union Buildings, Pretoria.

Saturday’s Presidential Inauguration falls well within the constitutional five days the President has to take the oath.

The event will attract thousands of dignitaries, including former Heads of State. According to government, they have has thus far received confirmations from 26 Heads of State and 11 Prime Ministers and/or Vice-Presidents. This equates to a total of 37 Heads of State and Government who will attend.

Also in attendance will be four former Heads of State, 14 Eminent Persons and 118 foreign ambassadors resident in South Africa.

Ordinary South Africans will also be transported from different provinces across the country to witness the event. –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook