NDPP shortlisted candidates announced

Friday, November 9, 2018

The 12 candidates who have a shot at being the next National Director of Public Prosecutions (NDPP) have been revealed.

In October, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the establishment of an advisory panel - headed by Energy Minister Jeff Radebe - tasked with sifting through nominations in pursuit of the next National Prosecuting Authority (NPA) head.

“The panel met on the evening of Thursday, 8 November 2018, to draw up a shortlist of candidates from the applications and nominations received,” said the Presidency in a statement on Friday.

Competing for the top spot is Andrew Chauke, the South Gauteng Director of Public Prosecutions, and Glynnis Breytenbach, a former prosecutor who later joined the Democratic Alliance.

Others in the running to head the National Prosecuting Authority are:

  1. Adv S Batohi
  2. Adv J R De Kock
  3. Adv A Johnson
  4. Adv M Luphondo
  5. Adv M Makhari
  6. Adv N Manaka
  7. Mr S X Mapoma
  8. Adv C S Mlotshwa
  9. Adv D M Noko
  10. Adv M S Ramaite

The NDPP position became vacant in August after the Constitutional Court declared invalid and unconstitutional the appointment of Shaun Abrahams and the removal of his predecessor, Mxolisi Nxasana.

The advisory panel received 22 applications and 24 nominations by the close of business on 2 November 2018.

The 12 shortlisted candidates will be interviewed between 14 and 16 November 2018.

Once interviews are completed, the advisory panel will recommend at least three candidates to the President, who will make a final decision. – SAnews.gov.za