Names of foreign nationals released

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Pretoria – The Inter-Ministerial Committee -- appointed by President Jacob Zuma to deal with the attacks on foreign nationals -- has announced the names of the people killed in Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal.

In total, seven people were killed during the attacks. Three of the deceased were South Africans.

  • Marcus Natas, an Ethiopian national who was petrol bombed in Umlazi near Durban.
  • A Zimbabwean national, known only as Muvo, was attacked by a mob in Chatsworth, near Durban.
  • Dava Sabastio, a Mozambican national, was attacked by a mob in Verulam.
  • Shaofic Shaof Ul Alam, a Bangladeshi, was shot in Plessislaer.

South Africans killed in the attacks were Thabo Owen Mzobe, Ayanda Dlamini and Petros Dlamini.

Mzobe was shot in Ntuzuma, while Ayanda Dlamini was shot in Bekhithemba in Umlazi and Petros Dlamini was killed in Chatsworth.

With regard to the death of Mozambican national Emmanuel Jossias, also known as Emmanuel Sithole, Inter-Ministerial Committee chairperson Minister Jeff Radebe said preliminary investigations have revealed that his death was an act of criminality.

Sithole was attacked and killed in Alexandra, north of Johannesburg. The attackers have been arrested and are still in custody.

In a statement released by the Presidency earlier, police said they are working around the clock to apprehend the perpetrators of the violence.

President Zuma requested all who have information about the incidents in which the victims were killed to come forward so that those responsible are brought to book. –