Ministerial team to release preliminary report on North West

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The Inter-Ministerial Task Team (IMTT) on the North West province will release their preliminary findings this afternoon.

The team, which will be in the province, will also hold stakeholder engagements in Lichtenberg, the administrative centre of Ditsobotla Local Municipality.

The team was appointed by Cabinet to establish facts on the ground in the North West.

The IMTT was directed to: 

  • Conduct an urgent assessment of the state of governance in the province;
  • Advise Cabinet on potential risks facing the province;
  • Provide Cabinet with a comprehensive report on the state of governance in the province at the Cabinet meeting of 9 May 2018. The report should advise on steps to be taken in respect of the Task Team’s findings; and
  • Remain seized with the North West matter until all critical issues are resolved. 

The IMTT comprises the Ministers of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma (Convener); Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi; Finance, Nhlanhla Nene; Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Dr Zweli Mkhize, as well as the Justice, Crime Prevention and Security Cluster Advocate Michael Masutha.

The North West was placed under administration in line with Section 100 (1) (b) of the Constitution, which allowed the national executive to take over the reins of the province. -