Mexico arrive in SA for World Cup

Friday, June 4, 2010

Pretoria - Mexico landed at the OR Tambo International Airport on Friday ahead of their opening World Cup match against Bafana Bafana at Soccer City on June 11.

Mexico touched down on Friday morning from Frankfurt with security officers on hand to ensure their safety.

Mexico is in group A along with Uruguay and the French national squad that won the World Cup trophy twelve years ago, when they hosted the tournament.

Mexico wrapped-up their FIFA World Cup preparations with a stunning 3-1 win over Gambia in Bayreuth, Germany on May 30.

The El Tri on Saturday will also get an opportunity to see how Bafana's goal scoring has improved over the months when they take on Denmark at Atteridgeville stadium at 2:15pm.

According to only seven teams have won the World Cup, six of them at least once while hosting the tournament.

France (1998), Argentina (1978) and England (1966) were the last three first-time winners of football's biggest prize, and each of those triumphs came on home turf.

The only teams to break their duck on foreign soil were West Germany in neighbouring Switzerland in 1954, and Brazil in Sweden four years later.

Brazil now have five stars on their famous canary-yellow shirts, Italy four and Germany three, while Argentina joined inaugural champions Uruguay on two in 1986.