Hanekom backs newly appointed tourism board

Friday, May 25, 2018

Tourism Minister Derek Hanekom has welcomed the appointment of the new Board of South African Tourism, which he says will take the tourism sector to greater heights.

South African Tourism is the Department of Tourism’s entity responsible for marketing South Africa to international and domestic tourists.

“The work of South African Tourism is central to growing tourism. Tourism is increasingly being recognised as an important driver of economic growth because it has such a positive impact on so many other sectors. The board’s oversight of South African Tourism is therefore critical for the future of tourism and for the growth of our overall economy.

“I thank the outgoing chairperson and board for providing guidance and direction to our marketing agency. I am confident the new board will continue in the same vein and take tourism to even greater heights,” said Hanekom.

The appointment of the Board was confirmed by Cabinet yesterday. It will be chaired by Monwabisi Fandeso, who is the former chairperson of the Tourism Charter Council, which developed the Amended Tourism B-BBEE Sector Code aimed at accelerating transformation.

Tanya Abrahamse has been reappointed to the board and will serve as the deputy chairperson. Other members who were reappointed include Thebeetsile Ikalafeng, Enver Duminy, Michelle Constant and Abba Omar Jacoob.

New members are Lindiwe Sangweni-Siddo, Pamela Yako, Kate Rivett-Carnac, Dawn Robertson, Ravi Nadasen, and Mohamed Baba.

The Department of Tourism will be represented by Nomzamo Bhengu.

“The new board represents a good mix of reappointed members, who will ensure sufficient continuity, and new members who will inject fresh insights.

“The board has the wide range of knowledge and experience that is needed to sustain and enhance our current growth path, and to develop tourism inclusively into the future,” said Hanekom.

The new board’s term of appointment is from 1 June 2018 to 31 May 2021. – SAnews.gov.za