Finalists in premier business awards announced

Monday, March 18, 2013

Pretoria - The Department of Trade and Industry (dti) on Monday announced the finalists in the upcoming inaugural SA Premier Business Awards.

The awards will be hosted on Wednesday evening at the Sandton Convention Centre. There are a total 13 categories in which winners will be selected.

“The awards recognise business excellence and honour enterprises which promote the spirit of quality and innovation – as well as job creation, and good business ethics,” said the department.

Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies will deliver the keynote address and also announce the top award for the evening, the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The finalists in the categories have been chosen by a specialist panel of judges. They represent business, government, organised labour and community constituencies.

The finalists were drawn from a list of enterprises that responded to the call for nominations.

Captains of industry and government business ministers and officials are set to attend the awards.

The awards are hosted by the dti, Proudly South African and Brand South Africa.

The finalists in the Exporter category are:

  • Abagold
  • Saab Grintek Defence Pty Ltd
  • Delta EMD (Pty) Ltd
  • Val Du Charron (Pty) Ltd 

Quality Award finalists:

  • Discovery Health
  • G.U.D. Holdings (Pty) Ltd
  • IMP Calibration Services (Pty) Ltd
  • Coega Dairy 

Green Award finalists:

  • Toyota South Africa Motors
  • MTN SA
  • Coega Dairy
  • PowerTech

Rural Development Award finalists:

  • Gift of the Givers Foundation
  • Clover Mama Afrika Trust
  • Social Change Assistance Trust (SCAT)
  • Africa Ignite 

Investor Award finalists:

  • Nestlé (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd
  • Biotherm Energy 

SMME Award finalists:

  • Malcom – Ezindaleni Hydraulics & Engineering
  • Regenesys Management (Pty) Ltd
  • Khayelitsha Cookies
  • CERadvance Engineering Ceramics

 Manufacturer Award finalists:

  • Cobra Water Tech
  • The Plantation Shutter Co
  • Unica Iron & Steel (Pty) Ltd
  • Bell Equipment Company SA (Pty) Ltd
  • PowerTech 

Technology Award finalists:

  • Saab Grintek Defence (Pty) Ltd
  • Bell Equipment Company SA (Pty) Ltd
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • Regenesys Management (Pty) Ltd

Media Award finalists:

  • Classic Business
  • Talk Radio 702/567 Cape Talk
  • Thuthuka Bursary (TBF)
  • Nothile Zwane
  • Sihle Mabuso/Funder with a Soul 

Women-owned Enterprise Award finalists:

  • Segakweng Enterprise and Strategy Consulting
  • Nyameka & Associates
  • Mam Sebenzi CC
  • Icebolethu Funarals


Most Empowered Enterprise award finalists:

  • MTN SA
  • Meondo Trading 369 CC
  • First Rand Limited
  • Ziphi Inkomo 1 Labour Hire CC

Young Entrepreneur award finalists:

  • Miss Earth South Africa
  • Exodus by Huyo Houz 

Proudly South African Enterprise award finalists:

  • G.U.D. Holdings (Pty) Ltd
  • Essay Gifts
  • Longspan Gutters