DWS works to finalise Catchment Management Agencies

Thursday, November 23, 2023

The Department of Water and Sanitation is in the process of finalising the establishment of the Catchment Management Agencies (CMAs).

The establishment of CMAs is in line with the provisions of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998) (NWA) and the National Water Policy for South Africa. 

The purpose of Catchment Management Agencies is to enhance decentralised decision-making and to involve stakeholders in managing water resources, in an integrated manner, at a local level.

Water and Sanitation Minister, Senzo Mchunu, has finalised the appointment of Board Members of the Pongolo – Umzimkhulu and the Vaal Orange Catchment Management Agency, which was concurred by Cabinet on 15 November 2023. 

The appointed Board Members for Pongolo – uMzimkhulu Catchment Management Agency include Dr Thava Kelly (Chairperson),  Sibusiso Makhanya (Deputy Chairperson), Hlengiwe Ndlovu, Bhekumuzi Gumbi, Dr Lembi William Mngoma, Snenhlanhla Mngadi, Professor Purshottama Reddy, Mdandla Myeni, and Nokuthula Khanyile.  

The appointed Board Members for the Vaal Orange Catchment Management Agency include, Desmond Solomon Fransman (Chairperson), Tsakane Zwane (Deputy Chairperson), Hubert Thompson, Nontuthuzelo Njeza, Nakana Masoka, Ponatshego Mothibi, Doris Dondur, Dichikane Mashego, and Louis Van Oudtshoom. 

The department said the boards, as the accounting authority, will operationalise the CMAs which will include, developing the catchment management strategy, effective participation of stakeholders and management of water resources in the water management area. 

“In addition, the CMA will be more responsive to water user needs and speedy decision making around water resources management and create a customer focused culture for water resources management which creates accountability at a local level for water resources management.

The department congratulated the new board members, and wished them well in their endeavours. – SAnews.gov.za