Bafana team to face Zambia named

Monday, November 5, 2012

Pretoria - Bafana Bafana head coach Gordon Igesund has named a 24-man squad to face Zambia in the Nelson Mandela Challenge on Wednesday, 14 November at Soccer City.

The two teams clashed in the inaugural Nelson Mandela Challenge back in 1994 and the 'return' clash next week promises fireworks. The visitors lost that epic encounter at Ellis Park 2-1.

In his fifth game in charge of the national team, Igesund made eight changes to the squad that travelled to Poland and Kenya last month, with seven of the players selected based overseas.

Itumeleng Khune retains his place in goals and will be joined by Darren Keet of KV Kortrijk (Belgium) as the only two goalkeepers in the squad.

In defence, another Belgium-based player Anele Ngcongca returns to the squad for the first time under Igesund after recovering from injuries.

Also back in the squad after a long absence are Thanduyise Khuboni (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars), Kermit Erasmus (Supersport United) and Katlego Mashego of Moroka Swallows.

"This is probably the last chance for a lot of players, especially the overseas-based players to impress because we don't have a FIFA date anymore between now and the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations tournament.

"I am happy with the progress we are making and the squad is taking shape nicely; a number of players and clubs are showing passion towards the national cause," said Igesund.

Igesund will have Serame Letsoaka as his only assistant following the passing away of Thomas Madigage last month.

"I believe Serame and I have what it takes to take this team forward. For the moment, we won't be replacing Tommy and I don't think there is a need to find a replacement," said the Bafana Bafana head coach.

Bafana will assemble for camp on Sunday, 11 November at the Southern Sun Monte Casino Hotel in Fourways.

On Monday, 12 November they will have a gym training session, and the next day will travel to Soccer City for final preparations.

The squad; goal keepers, Itumeleng Khune, Darren Keet. Defenders Bevan Fransman, Thabo Nthethe, Siyabonga Sangweni, Anele Ngcongca, Punch Masenamela, Bongani Khumalo and Ricardo Nunes.

Midfielders are Oupa Manyisa, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Sifiso Myeni, Thanduyise Khuboni, Teko Modise, Delron Buckley, Lerato Chabangu, Thuso Phala, Dean Furman and Kagisho Dikgacoi.

Strikers Bernard Parker, Katlego Mashego, Tokelo Rantie and Kermit Erasmus.

Kick-off is at 8pm. -  

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter