Zuma appoints Con Court judges

Monday, October 12, 2009

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma officially appointed four judges to the Constitutional Court on Sunday.

The four new Constitutional Court judges, who are expected to take up their posts today, are Sisi Khampepe, Chris Jafta, Johan Froneman and Moegeng Moegeng. The four are among seven judges short-listed by the Judicial Service Commission last month.

They will replace Albie Sachs, Kate O'Regan and Yvonne Mokgoro who are retiring.

Zuma paid tribute to the outgoing justices "for their selfless contribution to the legal fraternity, the development of South Africa's constitutional democracy and the upholding of the rule of law".

"As a Nation we are indeed eternally grateful at their dedication and leadership of such an important institution of our democracy.

"It is our hope that as the Honorable Justices retire and take time to reflect on their years in the bench, we can still draw guidance from their wisdom and experience on the many challenges that still face our young democracy", said President Zuma.