Seven new MPs sworn in

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Pretoria – Parliament has sworn in seven new Members of Parliament on Thursday.

The new MPs, six from the African National Congress (ANC) and one from the Democratic Alliance (DA), were sworn in by National Assembly Speaker Baleka Mbete.

The new MPs from the ANC are Rachel Adams, Jabu Dube, Simanga Mbuyane, Mbulelo Nkonzo, Lerato Theko and Terence Mpanza.

They replace ANC MPS including former Arts and Culture Deputy Minister Rejoice Mabudafhasi, former Public Service and Administration Minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi, former Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas and former Transport Minister Dipuo Peters, who recently resigned.

From the DA, the new MP is Yusuf Cachalia who replaces Heinrich Cyril Volmink.

Mbete welcomed the new members and wished them well in fulfilling their constitutional responsibilities.

As is the practice, the new members will undergo an induction programme to assist them in carrying out their mandate without delay. -



Most Read

SAnews on Twitter