SADC electoral forum to meet in SA

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Pretoria - The Southern African Development Community (SADC) 13th Annual General Conference (AGC) of the Electoral Commissions Forum (ECF) will be held in Gauteng next week Tuesday.

The ECF, which was launched in Cape Town in July 1998, is a forum of electoral commissions in the SADC region.

It is consists of 15 members -- Angola, Botswana, the DRC, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zanzibar and Zimbabwe.

Currently, the forum is chaired by Prof Joao Leopoldo da Costa, the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission of Mozambique, while Dr Brigalia Bam is its President.

The purpose of the AGC is to critically examine recent trends and developments affecting electoral democracy in the SADC region.

The official opening of the AGC on Tuesday at 11am will be followed by a seminar hosted by the South African Independent Electoral Commission at 2pm and will continue until Wednesday.

The annual general meeting for member states will take place on 25 August.

The gathering will be held at the Mount Grace Country Hotel & Spa in Magaliesburg. The theme of the seminar is Challenges to Democracy and Elections.

Most Read

SAnews on Twitter