SA Sport Awards nominees announced

Friday, October 5, 2012

Pretoria - The nominees of the annual SA Sports Awards were announced in Johannesburg on Thursday night with a host of the country's heroes set to be acknowledged.

The SA Sports Awards, where the winners in each category will be named, will take place on 4 November.

This year's Sports Star of the Year stands in line to win a whopping R1 million and a luxury vehicle. All nominees will receive a prize of R10 000 during the glittering awards ceremony.

Earlier this year, Sports and Recreation Minister Fikile Mbalula launched the annual Sports Awards with a cash prize of R3.7 million for the 19 categories.

The event is held in collaboration between the Department of Sport and Recreation, South Africa's Olympic governing body, SASCOC, SABC and the Gauteng Department of Sport, Arts and Culture.

The nominees in all categories are as follows:

- Sports Star of the Year: Hashim Amla (cricket); Natalie du Toit (swimming); Oscar Pistorius (athletics); Chad le Clos (swimming); Vernon Philander (cricket); Siyabonga Nomvethe (soccer); Caster Semenya (athletics)

- Sportsman of the Year: Chad le Clos (swimming); Cameron van der Burg (swimming); Vernon Philander (cricket); Hashim Amla (cricket); Siyabonga Nomvethe (football)

- Sportswoman of the Year: Marsha Marescia (hockey); Caster Semenya (athletics); Bridgette Hartley (canoeing); Chantelle Doddermeade (judo); Portia Modish (football)

- Coach of the Year: Gary Kirsten (cricket); Joseph Mkhonza (football); Alliaster Coetzee (rugby); graham hill (swimming); Gordon Igesund (football)

- Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Natalie du Toit (swimming); Kgothatso Montjane (tennis); Isle Hayes (athletics); Zandile Nhlapo (athlete); IIise Carstens (athlete)

- Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Oscar Pistorius (athletics); Charl Bouwer (swimming); Samkelo Radebe (athletics); Lucas Sithole (wheelchair tennis); Arno Fourie (athletics)

- Team of the Year: Rowing (men's lightweight 4); The Proteas and Swimming (London 2012 Olympic Team); Orlando Pirate FC; Banyana Banyana

- Federation of the Year: Swimming South Africa; Rowing South Africa and South African Hockey Association

- Newcomer of the Year: Michelle Webber (swimming); Richard Murray (triathlon); Siya Kolisi (rugby)

- Volunteer of the Year: Sondiso Magajana (judo); Laetitia Goldman (hockey); Elias Mpende (boxing)

- Administrator of the Year: Dr. Debbie Alexander (triathlon); Wimpie du Plessis (rowing); Dr. Kgotso Ncholo (softball)

- School Team of the Year: Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary School (football); Eastern Cape Girls School (rowing); Ithembelihle High School (rugby)

- Developing School Team of the Year: Nkunzimbini Junior Secondary School (football); Ithembelihle High School (rugby); Letsetse Intermediate School (football)

- Indigenous Games Team of the Year: Team KZN (all disciplines); Eastern Cape Khokho (Khokho); Kwazulu-Natal Inqathu (Inqathu)

- Journalist of the Year: Velile Mbuli; Lelo Mzaca and David Issacson.

- Photographer of the Year: Reg Caldecott; Etienne Rothbart and Sydney Seshibedi

- Recreation Body of the Year: Age in Action (wellness); Traditional Horse Racing (equestrian); Vakhegula (vakhegula football)


Most Read