Post Office honours Motlanthe with stamp

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Pretoria - The South African Post Office (SOPA) has issued a Presidential stamp to commemorate the dedication made by President Kgalema Motlanthe in the public service.

The stamp, which features a photograph of Mr Motlanthe with the country's coat of arms behind him, will cost R2.05 and may be bought at Post Offices countrywide.

Speaking at the launch of the stamp on Thursday, President Motlanthe said it was a great honour to receive the stamp, adding that as the Head of State he will never discredit this honour.

"I will take the stamp as a command that the government must continue to deliver good services to the public," he said.

Minister in the Presidency Manto Tshabalala-Msimang said the Post Office's policy is that Heads of State are the only living people who may feature on a postage stamp.

President Motlanthe is the third president since South Africa's democracy to be honoured in this way.

She said the first stamp was issued to former President Nelson Mandela and the second one issued to his successor former President Thabo Mbeki.

The Chairperson of the Board of SOPA, Vuyo Mahlati said that it was great honour for the Post Office to issue this historic stamp to the President.

She said the stamp has been designed by the SOPA in-housing design artist, Thea Clemons.

Mr Clemons also designed former President Mbeki's stamp in 1999 and won an international design competition by designing the stamp for FIFA's 100th anniversary in 2004.

Although the stamps will be used as a collectors' items, their intention, Ms Mahlati said, is to be used in day to day mailings. The Post Office will print 100 000 stamp sheets having 10 stamps on each.

Speaking to BuaNews after the launch, Deputy Minister of Communications Roy Padayachee said the presidential stamp was important as it recognises the excellent work done by the President.

He said the stamp was an expression of gratitude by the SOPA, on behalf of the public, to President Motlanthe for his dedication in the public service.