Nominations open for Commissioners of the CRL Rights Commission

Sunday, August 5, 2018

Government has invited nominations from organisations and individuals within the cultural, religious and linguistic sectors of South Africa for candidates to be appointed as Commissioners of the CRL Rights Commission.

The term of the current Commissioners of the Commission on the Promotion of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities will come to an end on 28 February 2019.

As such, the Department of Traditional Affairs has commenced the process of appointing new Commissioners.

Once the nominations have been received, they will be assessed by a panel and recommendations will be made to President Cyril Ramaphosa.

Once the suitably qualified and experienced persons are appointed as Commissioners of the CRL Rights Commission they will serve for a period of five years.

Their service will start on 1 March 2019 and end in February 2024.
Nominations must meet the legislative requirements to ensure the Commission is composed in such a way that it is at least broadly representative of the main cultural, religious and linguistic communities in South Africa and broadly reflects the gender composition of South Africa.
All nominations must be supported by the personal details of the nominee; particulars of the nominee’s involvement in cultural, religious and linguistic affairs, including a list of the cultural, religious and linguistic organisations of which the nominee is a member, an office-bearer or in which that nominee an active participant; particulars of the nominee’s knowledge and experience concerning issues relevant to the promotion and protection of the rights of cultural, religious and linguistic communities; nation-building and any other relevant information.
Nominations must be submitted by 30 September 2018 to the following address:
Attention: Ms L Motlhala
Nominations: Commission (Act No.19 of 2002)
Department of Traditional Affairs
Private Bag x 22
The nominations forms are available at or obtainable from the Department of Traditional Affairs, 509 Pretorius Street, Pencardia 1 Building, 3rd floor, Pretoria. –