New government pension board appointed

Thursday, July 19, 2018

Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene has appointed a new Advisory Board for the Government Pensions Administration Agency (GPAA).

The board administers the payment of pensions on behalf of the Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF) and National Treasury. The appointment was effective from 3 July 2018.

Joe Lesejane was reappointed as chairperson. He is joined by Maemili Ramataboe and Adv. Muvhango Lukhaimane. Beerson Baboojee and Justice Tebogo Sibanyoni will represent the National Treasury and Labour, respectively. Krishen Sukdev has been appointed chief executive of GPAA.

“The Advisory Board advises the Minister on the administration of pensions as well as the performance, governance and operations of the GPAA. The board includes people with vast experience in pension administration, risk management, financial management, corporate governance and labour relations,” National Treasury said in a statement. –