New Cultural Commission members to be inaugurated

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Pretoria - New members of the Commission  for Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities (CRL Rights Commission) will be inaugurated on Tuesday.

The 12 new members of the CRL Rights Commission are: Thoko Nonhle Mkhwanazi, Professor Luka David Mosoma, Dr Anton Wynard Knoetze, Renier Stephanus Schoeman, Sicelo Emmanuel Dlamini, Raymond Trollip, Richard Daryll Botha, Violet Nomalanga Tyamzashe, Bernedette Muthien, Pumla Primrose Madiba, Helen Julia Mabale and Sheila Fihliwe Khama.

Mkhwanazi and Mosoma have been appointed as chairperson and deputy chairperson of the commission respectively.

President Jacob Zuma announced the appointment of the 12 members earlier this month. They were appointed in terms of the CRL Rights Commission Act 19 of 2002 with effect from 1 March 2014, for a period of five years.

“The inauguration ceremony will be presided on by Justice Edwin Cameron,” said the Ministry for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA) and CRL Rights Commission.

The inauguration ceremony will be held at Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg at 1pm where the medium and long term priorities of the commissioners for the next five years will be highlighted.

The CRL Rights Commission is a constitutional institution established in terms of Section 181(1) (c) of the Constitution to strengthen constitutional democracy. This is with specific reference to protection and promotion of the rights of cultural, religious and linguistic rights; furthermore to develop peace, friendship, humanity, tolerance and promote unity in diversity. -

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter