NDPP appointment panel gets down to business

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

President Cyril Ramaphosa’s advisory panel on the appointment of a new National Director of Public Prosecutions (NDPP) is expected to submit its recommendations by 7 December 2018.

The panel, which started its work on Monday, was set up to identify and conduct interviews with individuals worthy of consideration to occupy the position.

The NDPP position became vacant in August after the Constitutional Court declared invalid and unconstitutional the appointment of Shaun Abrahams and the removal of his predecessor, Mxolisi Nxasana.

“The aim of the meeting [on Monday] was to confirm the mandate of the panel and to determine how it would set about completing its work. The panel agreed on a framework and that it would ensure that worthy persons shortlisted are appropriately vetted before recommendations are sent to the President for consideration,” said the Presidency said in a statement.
The panel unanimously decided that interested persons and organisations will be invited to identify to the panel and persons should be considered for appointment through an advertisement in the media calling for nominations/applications.
On 23 October 2018, there will be an invitation for applications and nominations for fit and proper South Africans who possess legal qualifications for the position of the NDPP in accordance with the National Prosecuting Act.

Applications and nominations are to be sent to The Presidency, Private Bag x1000, Pretoria, 0001 or Hand deliver at Government Avenue, Union Buildings, for attention: Nhlanhla Mshengu.

The closing date is 2 November 2018.

The advertisement will be published in the media.
At the meeting the panel decided that from 5 to 16 November 2018 shortlisting and interviews will take place; from 19 to 23 November the vetting of shortlisted candidates will take place and between 26 and 30 November 2018 the panel will do assessments and finalise the recommendations.
The Presidency said the panel agreed to submit shortlisted names to the President by 7 December 2018.
Chaired by Energy Minister Jeff Radebe, the panel comprises: 
• Mr TK Makwetu, Auditor General of South Africa
• Adv BC Majola, Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission
• Adv B Roux, representative of the General Council of the Bar of South Africa 
• Mr R Scott, representative of the Law Society of South Africa 
• Mr L Manye, representative of the Advocates for Transformation 
• Mr LB Sigogo, Black Lawyers Association
• Mr M Notyesi, representative of the National Association of Democratic Lawyers.

– SAnews.gov.za