Media reminded to submit entries for SADC media awards

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

With just five days to go before the closing date for the 2021 Southern African Development Community (SADC) Media Awards competition, members of the South African media have been encouraged to submit their entries for the competition.

“The awards were established following a decision by the Council of Ministers in 1996 to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to amongst others, information, culture and sport,” the Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) said on Tuesday.

These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media.

“To promote regional integration and cooperation (cross-border issues), the awards aim to recognise excellence in journalism in the area of print, photo, television, radio as well as to encourage media practitioners in member states to cover issues pertaining to the region,” GCIS said.

The forms and the 2021 competition rules can be found on the links below:


Competition rules:


Entries need to be posted or delivered to Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) or any GCIS office nationwide marked:

MDDA                                                                         GCIS Offices

SADC Media Awards Entry                 or                 SADC Media Awards Entry

MDDA – 1ST Floor                                                    Government Communications

5 St Davids Place                                                     1035 Francis Baard Street

Parktown, Johannesburg                                        Hatfield, Pretoria

2193                                                                           0028      

All entries must be submitted to the National Adjudication Committee not later than 28 February 2021. –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook