IMC on Migration expands

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Pretoria - President Jacob Zuma has added all nine Provincial Premiers and the South African Local Government Association (Salga) as members of the Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on Migration.

“The IMC will focus on all aspects of migration including South Africa’s migration policy and how various sectors can work with government to promote orderly migration and good relations between citizens and nationals of other countries,” the Presidency said on Friday.

At the meeting of the President’s Coordinating Council held on Friday, 10 March 2017, a decision was taken to expand the membership of the committee to ensure coordination by all spheres of government.

Consequently, membership now includes the leadership of provincial and local government. The committee was established in 2015.

The name will now change to the Inter-Governmental Committee on Migration and it is constituted as follows:

1. Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Mr Jeff Radebe as Chairperson

2. Minister of Home Affairs, Malusi Gigaba as Deputy Chairperson

3. Minister of Police, Nathi Nhleko

4. Minister of Basic Education, Angie Motshekga

5. Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, David van Rooyen

6. Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

7. Minister of Health, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi

8. Minister of Human Settlements, Lindiwe Sisulu

9. Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

10. Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Adv Michael Masutha

11. Minister of Small Business Development, Lindiwe Zulu

12. Minister of Social Development, Bathabile Dlamini

13. Minister of State Security, David Mahlobo

14. Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies

15. Minister of Communications, Faith Muthambi

16. Premier of Gauteng, David Makhura

17. Premier of KwaZulu-Natal, Willies Mchunu

18. Premier of Limpopo, Stanley Mathabatha

19. Premier of Mpumalanga, David Mabuza

20. Premier of the Eastern Cape, Phumulo Masualle

21. Premier of the Free State, Ace Magashule

22. Premier of the North West, Supra Mahumapelo

23. Premier of the Northern Cape, Sylvia Lucas

24. Premier of the Western Cape, Helen Zille and

25. President of the South African Local Government Association, Parks Tau

The Department of Home Affairs will lead the Technical Task Team of Directors-General for the IGC. –


Most Read

SAnews on Twitter