Govt announces reconfigured clusters

Monday, October 19, 2009

Pretoria - The Presidency on Monday announced reconfigured Ministerial Clusters as part of the process of improving coordination within government and enhancing the delivery of services.

The clusters of government departments have been regrouped from five to seven.

In a statement, the Presidency explained that clusters were established to foster an integrated approach to governance that is aimed at improving government planning, decision making and service delivery.

The Infrastructure Development Cluster will be chaired by Minister of Transport Sibusiso Ndebele, while Public Enterprises Minister Barbara Hogan will be the Deputy Chair.

Ministries falling in this cluster include, among others, Communications, Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Economic Development, Energy, Finance, Human Settlements and Public Enterprises.

The Economic Sectors and Employment Cluster will include Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, Communications, Economic Development, Finance, Higher Education and Training, Labour, Mineral Resources, Public Enterprises, Rural Development and Land Reform, Science and Technology, Tourism and Trade and Industry.

The cluster is to be chaired by Rural Development and Land Reform Minister Gugile Nkwinti and with Science and Technology Minister Naledi Pandor as the Deputy Chairperson.

Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga will chair the Human Development Cluster and Health Minister Aaron Motsoaledi will be her deputy. Ministries comprise Arts and Culture, Basic Education, Health, Higher Education and Training, Labour, Science and Technology and Sport and Recreation.

The Social Protection and Community Development Cluster will be chaired by Social Development Minister Edna Molewa with Public Works Minister Geoff Doidge as her deputy.

Ministries include Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Environmental and Water Affairs, Human Settlements, Labour, Public Works, Rural Development and Land Affairs, Social Development, Transport and Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities.

The International Cooperation, Trade and Security Cluster will include ministries such as Defence and Military Veterans, International Relations and Cooperation, Finance, State Security, Tourism, Trade and Industry and Water and Environmental Affairs.

It is to be chaired by Defence and Military Veterans Minister Lindiwe Sisulu and International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana Mashabane will be her Deputy.

The Governance and Administration Cluster is to be chaired by Home Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma with Public Service and Administration Minister Richard Baloyi as the Deputy Chairperson.

Ministries in this cluster will be Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Home Affairs, Justice and Constitutional Development, Finance, Public Service and Administration and the Presidency: Performance Monitoring and Evaluation and Administration.

The Justice, Crime Prevention, and Security Cluster will be chaired by Justice and Constitutional Development Minister Jeff Radebe. Police Minister Nathi Mthethwa will be the cluster's Deputy Chairperson.

The ministries making up the cluster include Correctional Services, Defence, Home Affairs, Justice and Constitutional Development, Police and State Security.

The main objective of the clusters, the Presidency said, was to ensure proper coordination of all government programmes at national and provincial levels.

"The main functions of clusters were to ensure alignment of government-wide priorities, facilitate and monitor implementation of priority programmes, and provide a consultative platform on cross-cutting priorities and matters being taken to Cabinet."

The clusters of the Forum of South African Directors General (FOSAD) were being reconfigured accordingly to mirror the ministerial clusters.

The FOSAD clusters, which were attended by directors general, provided technical support to the ministerial clusters.