Government welcomes smooth start to elections

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Pretoria – Government has welcomed the update provided by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) that shows that the 2014 General Elections are “well organised and proceeding peacefully”.

Earlier, the IEC’s Chief Electoral Officer, Mosotho Moepya, said about 89% of all voting stations had opened their doors for voting as of 7am across the country. Voting stations will close at 9pm this evening.

Government, in a statement, said this affirmed that democracy remained strong and vibrant in South Africa.

“Government joins the IEC in encouraging South Africans to keep making their way to voting stations throughout the day and in commending voters for the dignity and patience with which they are conducting themselves.”

It said that while the voting process is fundamentally peaceful and successful, security agencies and other components of government will attend to complaints as and when they are received by the IEC or other authorities.

“Government reiterates its call that even though voting stations are open until 9pm, voters should take advantage of this public holiday to visit voting stations earlier and throughout the day to avoid bottlenecks near closing time.”

To avoid medical emergencies, voters joining queues are advised to take precautions such as drinking water to remain hydrated and take along their prescription medicines.

All Home Affairs offices are open today to assist citizens with the necessary documents for voting. They will close at 9pm.

Voters can call a toll-free number 0800 6011 90 for more information or SMS your ID number to 32810 to check their voting station.

Voters have been reminded that if you are outside your voting district but still in the province in which you are registered, you will be allowed to vote in the provincial and national election after filling in a simple form (VEC 4).

Also, if you are outside the province where you are registered to vote, you will only be allowed to vote in the national election and not the provincial election at any voting station in that province. –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook