Eskom to cut power in northern provinces

Monday, September 18, 2017

Eskom is due to begin bulk power interruptions in the Free State, Northern Cape and Limpopo this week.

The power utility will today implement power supply interruptions in several municipalities in the Northern Cape, including Douglas and Griekwastad in the Siyancuma Local Municipality. The towns of Van der Kloof, Phillipstown and Petrusville in the Renosterberg Local Municipality will also be affected by today’s power interruptions.

Hopetown and Strydenburg in the Thembelihle Municipality and Postmasburg in the Tsantsabane Local Municipality are also scheduled to experience power cuts today.

The cuts are as a result of the non-payment of bills.

Limpopo, Free State

In Limpopo, the power utility is due to implement power interruptions in Thabazimbi, Ipelegeng, Regorogile X5 and 6 on Thursday.

In the Free State, Eskom will implement bulk electricity interruptions in the towns of Reitz, Lindley and Petrus Steyn in the Nketoana Municipality on 27 September.

The towns of Ladybrand, Excelsior, Tweespruit, Dawiesville in Mantsopa Municipality as well as Seretse, Boshof, and Dealsville in the Tokologo Municipality are also scheduled to have power interruptions on 27 September.

On the same day, the towns of Brandfort, Theunissen, Verkeerdevlei, Windburg,Bothaville, Wesselsbron, Bethlehem, Paul Roux, Rosenekal, Fateng-Tse-Ntsho, Kroonstad, Steynsrus as well as  Viljoenskroon will also be subjected to power interruptions.

The power utility at the weekend said it remains mindful of the impact of supply interruptions on consumers.

“Eskom remains mindful of the impact such supply interruptions will have on electricity consumers, thus the interruption of supply to municipalities for non-payment is always implemented as a last resort.”

Suspension of interruptions in North West

However, the power utility has suspended its planned bulk electricity supply interruptions to several towns in North West.

The power utility was due to implement electricity interruptions in Lichtenburg, Coligny and Boikhutso on 27 September.

Eskom has further suspended power supply interruptions to Bloemhof, Christiana and Schweizer-Reneke, which were meant to take place on 10 October.

Interruptions to the towns of Coldridge, Vryburg and Stella, Delareyville, Sannieshof, Ottosdal, Koster and Swartruggens, which were due to take place on Wednesday, have also been suspended.

“Our engagements and negotiations with these municipalities have yielded mutually acceptable agreements, thus averting the scheduled interruptions. We hope that the municipalities will honour their commitments in order to ensure continuous supply of electricity.

“However, should they renege, we reserve the right to restart the interruptions without further notice,” said Group Executive: Customer Services, Ayanda Noah. –

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter