E-Cape, Mpumalanga Premiers sworn in

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Pretoria – While Mpumalanga Premier David Mabuza was retained in the province’s highest office, the Eastern Cape has a new number one citizen at the helm, Phumulo Masualle.

The two Premiers were sworn in on Wednesday morning along with other members of the legislature (MPLs) in  their respective provinces.

After all members were sworn in, nominations for the positions of Premier, Speaker and Deputy Speaker were submitted.

When voting was concluded, Premier Mabuza was voted Premier once again, receiving 24 votes, while the DA’s provincial leader Anthony Benadie received three votes.

Beatrice Shongwe, who is the former ANC chief whip in the Mpumalanga Legislature, was voted in as the provincial speaker.

In the Eastern Cape, former Finance MEC Masualle was, after being sworn in, voted in as Premier, while his predecessor Noxolo Kiviet was sworn in as the Speaker.

Mandisa Titi, a general manager in the office of the Premier in the Eastern Cape, said Premier Masualle would announce his cabinet on Friday. – SAnews.gov.za

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter