Department rolls out digital migration in North West

Monday, January 22, 2018

Officials from the Department of Communications are visiting various municipality districts in the North West province to register and install government subsidised decoders to qualifying households.

“This move is aimed at accelerating the installation of decoders with a view to completing the installations to qualifying households in the North West province,” the Department of Communications said on Monday.

There are about 382 000 qualifying households in the province. 

The department said registration and installation teams will adopt a phased approach that will see them going through all the district municipalities in the province.

The department is adopting a similar approach with installation in the Free State province, while the project in the Square Kilometre Array in the Northern Cape has been completed.   

It has also enlisted the support of provincial and local governments to encourage qualifying residents to register for the government-subsidised decoders.   

The Department of Communications is working together with the South African Post Office (Sapo) to reach communities and to distribute the subsidised television decoders to qualifying households.

To qualify for the government-subsidised decoders, households must have a total income of below R3200 per month. 

The Department of Communications has been tasked to roll out a process of migrating all South African households to digital terrestrial television (DTT).

This process of migration is a government initiative and will allow users to experience the many benefits of digital television which include, among others, clearer pictures and sound as well as more channels to choose from. –