Candidate lists available on IEC site

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Pretoria – The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has published the list of candidates for each political party, which will be contesting the May 7 General Elections.                                                        

The lists, which is on the IEC website for public inspection, comprise approximately 9 000 candidates and are published per political party in alphabetical order, comprising national, regional and provincial lists.

According to the Commission, the lists will be available on the website for inspection until Tuesday, April 1, at 5pm. This is the deadline for the submission of objections to candidates.

Any objection to lists of candidates in terms of Section 30 of the Electoral Act must be submitted to the Electoral Commission’s head office in Centurion in writing before 5pm on April 1.

“Such objections must indicate the reason for the objection to a candidate and must show that a copy of the objection has also been lodged with the relevant political party.

“The comprehensive list including all supporting documentation will be available for inspection at the IEC head office in Centurion during office hours (8am to 5pm) on Friday, 28 March and Monday, March 31,” the IEC said.

The Commission will rule on any objections by Monday, April 7, and any appeals to the rulings must be submitted to the Electoral Court by April 10.

The final deadline for decisions of the Electoral Court is April 15 following which the final list of candidates contesting the elections will be published on April 22 and certificates issued to candidates by April 24.

The list of candidates on the IEC website ( is abbreviated for security reasons and does not include supporting documentation or ID numbers.

The abbreviated lists will also be available from Friday at all IEC offices. -

Most Read

SA News on Facebook

SAnews on Twitter