All systems go for SAFA elections

Friday, September 25, 2009

Pretoria - Its all systems go for the South African Football Association's (SAFA) much anticipated elections.

"The SAFA elections will be held tomorrow soon after the Council General Meeting, whereby delegates from various regions will vote for their favorite candidate.

"There are three candidates for the position, 2010 Local Organising Committee Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Dr Danny Jordaan, Chairman Dr Irvin Khoza and Kirsten Nematandini, SAFA's executive member," said SAFA's spokesperson, Morio Senyane.

He told BuaNews on Friday that the election results for the president's position will be released tomorrow, immediately after the independent electorate committee identified by the council has completed counting the votes.

Although the position will be contested by three candidates, all eyes will be on Dr Jordaan and Dr Khoza, who both played a significant role in the organizing of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

FIFA's Secretary General, Jerome Valcke recently said the football governing body would closely monitor the elections to protect the organization and the preparations for the world cup.

FIFA has also insisted that whoever becomes the president between Dr Khoza and Dr Jordaan will have to vacate the office as LOC Chairman or LOC CEO respectively.

Lately, there have been reports that an interim president will be designated to avoid jeopardizing the preparation for the world cup and also to give the two men adequate time to continue with their duties preparing for the event.

However, Senyane said the General Council will decide tomorrow on this issue, adding that all decisions regarding the future of the association will be made tomorrow.

FIFA and the LOC have assured that the elections will run smoothly, both pledging that preparations for Africa's first world cup will not be jeopardized.

Among the other posts coming up for election is that of SAFA's two vice presidents, in which incumbents Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana and Mubarak Mohamed are being challenged by six other candidates.