Madagascan Transitional Authority names government

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Antananarivo - The Madagascan High Transitional Authority, led by former Antananarivo mayor Andry Rajoelina, named the vice-president of transition to head the governing body of transitional congress and ministers.

Rajemison Rakotomaharo, former chairman of the Senate under former president Marc Ravalomanana, was appointed vice-president of the transition.

Jacques Sylla, former prime minister under Ravalomanana, was appointed president of the transitional congress.

Monja Roindefo Zafitsimivalo, prime minister under the transitional government, announced that his government would be called Republican Government.

Rajoelina took power following two months of violent protests that resulted in the ouster of President Marc Ravalomanana in March.

Rajoelina was declared president with the support of the military, a move that led to the country's suspension from the African Union and the 15-nation Southern African Development Community.