South African runner wins 2013 Comrades Marathon

Pretoria - South Africa’s Claude Moshiywa on Sunday won the 88th Comrades Marathon.

Moshiywa, who completed the race in five hours 32 seconds, became the first South African to win the race since 1992 when it was won by Jetman Mosotho.

Sweden’s Jonas Buud came second while Mpesela Ntlosoeu from Lesotho came third.

Elena Nurgaliewa from Russia won the women’s race.

The race kicked off at 5:30am in Durban and will conclude at 5:30pm in Pietermaritzburg.

The marathon attracts athletes (men and women) from around the world to partake in the 86.96km race between the cities of Pietermaritzburg and Durban.

Along the route there are 48 fully stocked refreshment stations, containing water, fruit, energy drinks, energy bars, chocolates, biscuits and cooked potatoes which are powered by nearly 5000 volunteers.

Extensive medical, emergency, first aid and physiotherapy provisions for the thousands of participants have also been put in place.

Comrades Marathon Association race director Johan Van Staden had earlier said: “We have catered in every possible way to make the 2013 Comrades Marathon a magnificent experience for our runners. We wish all participants a great run on Race Day.”

Meanwhile, the Department of Correctional Services (DCS) Minister Sibusio Ndebele wished well the 191 DCS officials who are participating in the gruelling race.

“On behalf of the DCS Family, we want to wish the officials participating in the Comrades Marathon today everything of the best,” said Ndebele.

North West Premier Thandi Modise also wished the 80 person team that will be representing the province at the race. -