ANC chooses Eastern Cape mayors

East London - The ruling African National Congress (ANC) has chosen current Amathole District Municipality speaker Zukiswa Ncitha as the mayor-elect of the recently created Buffalo City Metro.

On Wednesday, the party also revealed the names of six other new mayors for major municipalities around the province at a press conference at their King Williamstown offices.

Provincial ANC chairperson Phumulo Masualle said the new mayors had a responsibility to lead growth, development and service delivery in their municipalities.

"We are confident that these candidates will fully implement the party's programmes in the municipalities we are deploying them to," said Masualle.

The new mayors are:
Nomasikizi Konza: Amathole District Municipality
Eunice Diko: Alfred Nzo District Municipality
Mxolisi Koyo: Chris Hani District Municipality
Zibonele Dumezela: Joe Gqabi District Municipality
Dingaan Myolwa: Oliver Reginald Tambo Municipality.

The only municipality out of the eight that won't have a new mayor is Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan, where current mayor Zanoxolo Wayile retains his position.

Wayile was quick to add that retaining his position presented him with another opportunity for him to make sure the Metro "reaches greater heights."

"A lot needs to be done in the Metro in terms of dealing with the challenges we face. Councilors have to perform to a particular standard and we must deal with issues of unemployment and inequality," said Wayile.

Ncitha said Buffalo City Metro has "a lot to deal with" and would be focusing on "fixing the instabilities of the outgoing council".

"The first thing I will look at is the cleanliness of the Metro, which has caused an outcry in the past. I will also be looking at recruiting administration that is equal to the task in terms of competency and qualification," said Ncitha.